4.3.03

2003 #3 Double hitting

The Scene:
You are in the rough just short of hole #4. The flagstick is up front. You lie two. You have been practicing your chipping and putting and have a lot of confidence. If you chip in you’ll have a birdie. The worst you can do is a par. You take your stance, aim for the hole and chip. As your club comes through it hits the ball, and then Oh, no! It hits it a second time. You hear both hits – and so does everyone else. But it’s okay. It felt terrible but the ball is going straight and stops just short of the hole. It's not a chip-in. But it's still good.

What would you do?

A Tap in for a par?

B. Tap in and then add a penalty stroke to your score for a bogey?

The correct answer is B.
 
Look up
Rule #14 Striking the Ball
#14-4 Striking the Ball More Than Once:
If a player’s club strikes the ball more than once in the course of a stroke, the player shall count the stroke and add a penalty stroke, making two strokes in all.


Now that is not one stroke for each time your club struck the ball. It is one stroke for the chip and a penalty stroke for striking the ball more than once. If you had hit the ball three times you would still incur just one penalty stroke.

REMEMBER: Anytime you hear that extra hit, add a penalty stroke to your score.

No comments: